VIEA application for Foreign Trade Zone Point designation

MP Malcolmson's letter to Minister Bains supporting VIEA application for FTZ Point designation for Vancouver Island

October 24th, 2017

The Honourable Navdeep Bains 
Minister of Innovation, Science, and Economic Development
House of Commons
Ottawa, ON K1A 0A6

Dear Minister,

As I head back tonight to Nanaimo-Ladysmith for the Economic Summit of the Vancouver Island Economic Alliance (VIEA), I’m hoping for good news from your ministry. I’d love to know that you’ll approve VIEA’s application to get Foreign Trade Zone Point designation for Vancouver Island.

As would a board of trade in a large municipality, VIEA is ideally suited to promote Vancouver Island as a hub for international trade. For over a decade, VIEA has promoted and enhanced economic opportunities for Vancouver Island, with broad membership including the island’s local governments, industries, and chambers of commerce.

The BC government has identified Vancouver Island as an economic priority, and it’s well-suited to become a Foreign Trade Zone Point with its skilled labour force and high-quality infrastructure. Vancouver Island’s connections to global supply chains include five regional and one international airport, a rail freight line, two federal ports, harbour authorities, and two universities.

With Vancouver Island’s diverse economy and multiple First Nations governments, industries, and regional districts, a Foreign Trade Zone Point would be an especially helpful tool to improve access to existing government trade programs. The last Foreign Trade Zone Point was established this summer in Windsor/Essex Ontario, where fellow Members of Parliament representing that region helped get it established. I’m encouraged that a Foreign Trade Zone Point could provide one-window access to government programs and services that can help local firms boost their exports to create more jobs.

As Nanaimo-Ladysmith’s Member of Parliament, I commend Vancouver Island and the Vancouver Island Economic Alliance as Foreign Trade Zone Point candidates, and look forward to your favourable decision.

With thanks,

Sheila Malcolmson
MP, Nanaimo-Ladysmith

Brian Masse, Member of Parliament, New Democrat critic for Industry and Innovation, Windsor West
Murray Rankin, Member of Parliament, Victoria
Randall Garrison, Member of Parliament, Esquimalt – Saanich – Sooke
Alistair McGregor, Member of Parliament, Cowichan – Malahat – Langford
Gord Johns, Member of Parliament, Courtenay – Alberni
Rachel Blaney, Member of Parliament, North Island – Powell River
Doug Routley, Member of Legislative Assembly, Nanaimo – North Cowichan
Leonard Krog, Member of Legislative Assembly, Nanaimo
Michelle Stilwell, Member of Legislative Assembly, Parksville-Qualicum
George Hanson, President, Vancouver Island Economic Alliance